Being neighborly, even online

September 27, 2007 at 10:19 am 1 comment

Adirondack chairs A visitor by the name of Rachel asks:

I’m very interested in seeing that the two of you have teamed up for what looks to be a very interesting blog on the crossroads of urban planning and religion. I know that both of you have deep Christian convictions, so I am wondering how you anticipate treating those who post comments and view your blog who may come from another religious perspective?

So here was my response (and Rachel gave permission to post her question here):

Hi and thanks for writing. That’s a really good question, and you’ve inspired me to find a metaphor that describes how we do things around here.

I’m treating this blog like my front porch. It’s similar to setting up a table and a few Adirondack chairs and inviting neighbors and passers-by for coffee and conversation.

In this situation, no way can I expect everyone to agree with me. Some may be Christians who disagree with my conclusions. Some may be non-Christians who agree with my conclusion but don’t like my reasons. But I am confident enough in my God to know that I can listen to my neighbors and love them and not beat them over the head with my 20-pound study Bible. At least not on the first visit.

And those who drive by and throw eggs will not be treated gently.

And like I told her in a follow-up email, if I can’t be neighborly on this web site, I have no business writing about neighborhoods!

— Jon Swerens

Entry filed under: Jon Swerens, Philosophy, Purpose. Tags: , , , .

The battle of Water Song addition New Urbanism and the Church

1 Comment

  • 1. Herman Najoli  |  September 27, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Excellent answer. We have to get along with others if we ever hope to go along in life.


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


