A call for entries: How you can help

October 6, 2007 at 1:28 pm 6 comments

Now that I’m 41, it’s time for be to admit I have aged out of Young Leaders of Northeast Indiana.

It’s a self-described “happenin’ organization of 20- and 30- somethings who do care,” so my oldest son may be closer to the median age of YLNI than I am.

But many of YLNI’s goals match my own, which is why I stayed past my expiration date.

I’m not from around here, so I need some advice: What do I do instead? Where do I and other like-minded citizens find ways to make Fort Wayne a good city?

Here’s what I’m looking for:

An organization that ministers to the health and well-being of the city and its citizens.

And I mean “minister” in the broadest definition, not just in the religious sense — although obviously the religious sense is included, too. Answers can be

  • neighborhood associations
  • think tanks
  • churches
  • governmental committees
  • business groups

any kind of group that has as one of its reasons for existence helping the city of Fort Wayne as a city. (Yes, New Haven groups are welcome to be listed.)

So leave a comment or send an email that includes the name of the group, a web site link or contact, and the reason you think it should be included in such a list. I hope to make this “How you can help” page a comprehensive resource for the city.

— Jon Swerens 

Entry filed under: Advice, How you can help, Jon Swerens. Tags: , , , .

Restaurants, bars build “smoke-easies” Front Porches vs. American Idol

6 Comments

  • 1. Anthony  |  October 7, 2007 at 10:05 am

    The United Way of Allen County fits your description. It’s an organization that focuses on a wide range of community needs, while providing the expertise to ensure that the highest prioirity needs are being met. This allows donors and volunteers to ensure that their dollars and time are going to the highest priorities, without having to research each community need and not for profit on their own.

    Learn more at http://www.unitedwayallencounty.org.

  • 2. Jennifer Jeffrey  |  October 7, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Are you looking to JOIN something, START something, or SUPPORT SOMETHING?

  • 3. Wendy  |  October 9, 2007 at 10:16 am

    Jon, I would welcome you to stay active in YLNI. While we are aimed at people in their 20s and 30s, we welcome those who are interested in and support our intiatives. Age is a state of mind!

  • 4. Scott Greider  |  October 9, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    That’s good to know, Wendy, as we’re not that much younger than Jon!!

  • 5. Jon Swerens  |  October 13, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    @Wendy: Thanks for the invitation to stay. I do feel like the old man sometimes. I’ll consider my options.

    @Jennifer: For the purpose of this post, I’m looking for groups to support.

    @Anthony: Can you mention something specific that has to do with this post? Is there a group in United Way that specifically addresses the concerns of this post and this blog?

  • 6. Anthony  |  October 15, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Not sure how my post wasn’t specific enough. You asked for “An organization that ministers to the health and well-being of the city and its citizens.” That’s what the United Way does by creating an efficient, effective way for volunteers and donors to put their attention towards the highest priority health and wellness issues in Allen County.

    If that’s not specific enough, I give up.


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


