24 favorite local businesses

December 15, 2007 at 6:14 pm 5 comments

I don’t know who Samantha Goldsberry is, but I do know she’s a Fort Wayne blogger with excellent taste.

Back in November, she listed her 24 favorite local businesses. I’m happy to say I’ve been to some of her favorites, but I still need to visit some more in order to become an official gold-star Fort Wayne resident. (I moved here in 1998, btw.)

Here are the places she listed that I’ve visited:

  • Atz’s Ice Cream Shoppe: The servings are ginormous
  • Coney Island: The ambiance is perfectly ’50s.
  • Cebolla’s Mexican Grille: Great place to take family.
  • Firefly Cafe: Great place to take wife.
  • Munchie’s Emporium: I can’t resist the unwraps.
  • Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo: What family doesn’t have a zoo pass?
  • Azar’s Big Boy: Oh boy the fish and chips.

Notice how many of them are restaurants!

I am embarrassed to say I haven’t been to the following, although they’re so close to where I live:

  • Powers Hamburgers
  • Cindy’s Diner
  • The Thirsty Camel
  • Three Rivers Co-op

But here are some additional places that I think say “Fort Wayne” that I have visited and that she didn’t list:

  • Bell’s Roller Rink
  • Paula’s on Main
  • Redwood Inn
  • Castle Gallery

What do you think? I didn’t grow up here, so tell me: What locally owned places can you name that exemplify Fort Wayne culture?

— Jon Swerens · photo by Everett White on Flickr

Entry filed under: Fort Wayne links, Jon Swerens. Tags: , , .

The question of rural development New Media, New Rules presentation

5 Comments

  • 1. Adrian  |  December 16, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Zesto! (the original, on Broadway)

  • 2. john b. kalb  |  December 17, 2007 at 1:49 am

    Jon – The Rib Room on East State and, on the same trip, The Firehouse Theater right next door ( See your partner Scott in act(ion)!

  • 3. PJ  |  December 17, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Great photo of Powers!

  • 4. Wendy  |  December 20, 2007 at 10:51 am

    Cinema Center should be on the list for sure.

  • 5. Samantha  |  January 9, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Yeah, I can’t believe I left out Zesto’s and the Cinema Center in my blog.

    The roller rink that you listed, where is that located? I also should add the Roller Dome’s North and South to my list.

    It’s great to see someone who appreciates Fort Wayne as much as I do!


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


