41 books to read in 2008

January 1, 2008 at 10:47 am 3 comments

(Jon) My first New Year’s resolution is:

Stop buying books.

I have enough books on church, culture, cities and community on my shelves to last me at least through December. And they all came highly recommended by those who have a love for the city. Take a look:

Here’s what I’ve read in 2007 or earlier but hope to restudy in 2008:

And beyond actually reading them and understanding them, I intend on commenting on them here at The Good City. Good grief!

I’ve just begun Life Together because I felt I needed some more spiritual sustenance. But do you have any suggestions on what I should pick up next? Any books on my bookshelf that you’ve already read and would recommend?

— Jon Swerens · photo by austinevan on Flickr

Entry filed under: Advice, city culture, Culture, Jon Swerens. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The fallacy of survey-driven theology The Good City’s comments policy

3 Comments

  • 1. Everett White  |  January 1, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Francis Schaeffer. Yes.

  • 2. David Hittle  |  January 5, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I’d suggest moving the Eric Jacobsen book to the top of the list, and letting Florida slide down a bit. Not a lot; just a bit.

    And some reading of your almost-neighbor Phillip Bess’s works (“Till We Have Built Jerusalem” is a super compilation) would well supplement Pastor Jacobsen. They’re New Urbanist buddies.

    I just found your blog, and am happy for it!

  • 3. Sang Freud  |  January 6, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    A book to add to your recommended list
    The Good City, by Lawrence Haworth [Indiana Universisty Press, 1963]


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


