The Good City’s comments policy

January 2, 2008 at 3:31 pm 2 comments

(Jon) A recent commenter wrote me a private email, saying that if I don’t allow comments from anonymous complainers, that I’m a big sissy chicken girl. (I may be paraphrasing.)

That reminds me that I’ve been considering publishing an actual policy on comments here at The Good City instead of keeping it only inside my head. So here’s my first draft:

This blog is like my front porch. You are invited to walk up and say all manner of outrageous things, after we shake hands and have a proper introduction.

In the blog world, that means comments are moderated. But if you talk like a reasonable human being, we’ll most likely allow it. Please use your real name, the name you’d use if we shook hands at a downtown bar.

If you want to have a conversation, even if you deeply disagree with me, then please pull up a chair and tell us what’s on your mind. But if you want to drive by while blowing your horn and mooning me out your window, please understand if I’m not as receptive of your argument. And don’t be shocked if I sic my dog on you.

We reserve the right to modify this policy at any annoying time we want.

And we also reserve the right to delete comments that we don’t like for any other reason that we haven’t thought of before. Why? Because it’s our blog. If you don’t like it, get your own. They’re free, you know.

ADDENDUM: We’ll also delete links to Web sites that we’d consider NSFW, or mark them as such when possible.

— Jon Swerens · photo by Ben Zvan on Flickr

Entry filed under: Advice, Jon Swerens, Policy. Tags: , , , .

41 books to read in 2008 Welcome nancynall.com visitors

2 Comments

  • 1. MRev. Kenneth White, Jnr.  |  January 5, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    That was hilarious to read I havent laughed so hard in about a week. Thank you and richest blessings.

  • 2. Anthony Juliano  |  January 8, 2008 at 12:58 am

    I’d say that the commenter who wasn’t willing to sign his post is the true “big chicken sissy girl” here. The debate about anonymous comments has been going on in the Fort Wayne blogosphere for quite sometime, but here’s my two cents on why I completely agree with your policy:

    Screaming Through the Plexiglas


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


