New Urbanism lecture on YouTube

March 27, 2008 at 8:29 pm 1 comment

(Jon) Here’s a well-thought-out lecture on New Urbanism by Andres Duany, author of Suburban Nation, The Rise of Sprawl and the Decline of the American Dream — a book I happen to be reading right now and enjoying very much.

This lecture is posted in nine parts (often chopped up in the middle of words). All nine pieces of the lecture can be found here.

Also, you can read an excerpt from Suburban Nation here. I’ll be posting about the book as I read through it over the coming weeks.

Hat tip: URBNBLGR

Entry filed under: Jon Swerens, Philosophy, Urbanism. Tags: , .

Suburbia: The next slum? How to talk to strangers

1 Comment

  • 1. Kevin  |  March 28, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Suburban Nation was the first Urban Planning book I read, about 3 years ago. I will cherish it always, as it put confirmed many of the things I was thinking, but in a concise and readable manner. It really set me down the path that I’m on now, the path towards a more sustainable model of development.


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


