Today’s rant: Get off my road!

June 3, 2008 at 1:39 pm 2 comments

Or: My way is the highway.

From today’s News-Sentinel:

Bicycles, mo-peds and buggys, if they are going to use the highways, they need to have plates, insurance and a safety flag sticking up so they can be seen.

And if pedestrians, pets, mailmen and woodland animals are going to dare cross a street, they must wear blaze-orange vests and blast air horns, just in case approaching motorists are distracted by the radio, cell phone and/or mascara applicator.

Evidently not needed: Motorists to pay attention while driving.

Entry filed under: Jon Swerens, Transportation. Tags: , , .

Columbus, Ohio, has big bike plans The ruins of Detroit

2 Comments

  • 1. MichaelK  |  June 3, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I thought about riffing on that one in my post today, but I’m waiting for the next “my gas taxes pay for those roads” fallacy to come up…

  • 2. Jake Belder  |  June 3, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Tell me about it! Apparently here in Florida it is illegal to ride your bike on the sidewalk, but I wouldn’t dare take it on the road. With people talking on cell phones, talking with passengers, eating, putting on makeup, or whatever else, there’s no way I’m taking a chance on the side of the road. Even crossing an intersection you need to stop because the person coming at you to turn left isn’t watching you, they’ve got their eye on what traffic is coming so they can go through.

    Yeah, what we need is lots of bans on doing stuff in the car, and stricter, more demanding driver training.


About thegoodcity.com

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Jeremiah 29:7

Proprietor: Jon Swerens. Contact TGC. Read the comments policy.

Recent Comments

Story feed

Archives


